Tipica 73 - Tipica 73 album cover

In 1972, the Ray Barretto orchestra disassembled. Five musicians from Ray’s band decided to form their own group and in 1973 this album was released and began an era of successful albums that would last until 1982. Vocalist Adalberto Santiago, percussionists John (Dandy) Rodriguez, Orestes Vilató, bassist David Perez and pianist/arranger Sonny Bravo were the featured musicians to make the transition. They toured throughout Latin America and recorded some of their music in Cuba.